Schema objects are loaded into memory and performing operations such as editing or creating a schema object can create a discrepancy between the metadata and the cache of object definitions loaded into memory. To ensure consistency between the metadata the object cache stored in memory, users are asked to perform an update schema after making such changes.
When in 2-tier, users can disconnect and reconnect to their 2-tier project source to refresh the object cache. This action is equivalent to running an Update Schema and checking option "Update schema logical information," as shown below:

Refer to the following Strategy Knowledge Base document for more information on when to perform an Update Schema operation:
KB419331