SYMPTOM:
After a user saves a Word 2000 document, the following error message appears:
The disk is full or too many files are open.
Later versions of Microsoft Word will save the document without error.
CAUSE:
If the user configures Strategy Office to include reports as interactive embedded Excel workbooks, Strategy Office creates an embedded Excel workbook in the Microsoft Word document. If the embedded object is corrupt, then the error message will be displayed when the user saves the Word document.
ACTION:
Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 224041 discusses this error in Word 2000 and how to correct it in the Word document.
Alternatively, users can delete the Strategy Office reports in the Word document and re-execute the reports. To delete these reports, select Word Reports from the View menu of Strategy Office. Then, select the reports for deletion and then select Delete from the Edit menu. Deleting the embedded Strategy Office reports should delete the corrupt embedded object.
WORKAROUND:
Change Strategy Office to include the reports as static pictures. To change this configuration option, select Options from the Tools menu in Strategy Office. In the Options dialog, select the Security Modification settings. Under Report Modification, select the Static Picture radio button.
Third Party Software Installation:
WARNING:
The third-party product(s) discussed in this technical note is manufactured by vendors independent of Strategy. Strategy makes no warranty, express, implied or otherwise, regarding this product, including its performance or reliability.