EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB11335: Users cannot edit MicroStrategy reports included in Word or PowerPoint as interactive embedded Excel workbooks.


Community Admin

• Strategy


SYMPTOM:
Users cannot edit Strategy reports included in Word or PowerPoint as interactive embedded Excel workbooks. Instead, one of the following error messages appears:
 
This object is corrupt or is no longer available.
Or
 
The server application, source file, or item can't be found, or returned an unknown error. You may need to reinstall the server application.
In addition to these symptoms, Word or PowerPoint may crash.
 
CAUSE:
If a user configures Strategy Office to include reports as interactive embedded Excel workbooks, Strategy Office creates an embedded Excel workbook in Word and PowerPoint to display the report. There are several things that can cause the embedded objects to be corrupt. For example, a Norton AntiVirus Office plug-in is known to affect embedded workbooks. In addition, installing Microsoft Office service packs is known to cause problems with embedded objects.
 
ACTION:
Microsoft suggests disabling the Norton AntiVirus Office plug-in. To learn more about Norton AntiVirus Office plug-in and Microsoft Office, refer to the following Microsoft Knowledge Base article:
 

  • Article ID 329820 - How to use Office programs with the Norton AntiVirus Office plug-in

To learn more about installing Microsoft Office service packs and embedded objects, refer to the following Microsoft Knowledge Base article:
 

  • Article ID 328613 - Cannot Open Office Documents or Cannot Edit Inserted Objects After You Install Office XP Service Pack 2 or Office 2000 Service Pack 3

In some environments, closing Microsoft Excel before opening or refreshing any embedded workbooks in Word and PowerPoint may improve the behavior.
 
To remove the corrupted object, delete the corrupted Strategy Office reports in the Word document or PowerPoint presentation and re-execute the reports. Alternatively, refreshing the report will cause Strategy Office to delete the corrupt object and re-create it.
 
To delete the reports, perform the following:

  1. In Strategy Office, select Word Reports or PowerPoint Reports from the View menu.
  2. Select the reports to be deleted and select Delete from the Edit menu. Deleting the embedded Strategy Office reports should delete the corrupt embedded object.

WORKAROUND:
If it is not necessary to edit the Strategy Office reports in Word or PowerPoint, users can consider changing the configuration option to include the reports as pictures.
 
To change the configuration option, perform the following steps:
 

  1. Open the Strategy Office Options dialog by selecting Options from the Tools menu in the Strategy Office dialog or selecting Programs > Strategy > Office > Configurations from the Microsoft Start menu.
  2. In the Strategy Office Options dialog, open the General folder. Open the Security folder and select the Modification folder.
  3. In the Security Modifications Options, select the Static Picture radio button.
  4. Click the OK button.

Third Party Software Installation:
WARNING:
The third-party product(s) discussed in this technical note is manufactured by vendors independent of Strategy. Strategy makes no warranty, express, implied or otherwise, regarding this product, including its performance or reliability.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 19, 2017

Last Updated:

June 19, 2017