EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB12628: Is it possible to downgrade from a version of MicroStrategy to an earlier version?


Community Admin

• Strategy


This article discusses why it is not possible to downgrade an installation of MicroStrategy

Is it possible to downgrade from a version of Strategy to an earlier version?
Downgrading an installation of Strategy software to an earlier version is problematic.  When a product is upgraded, system files and registry keys are modified to support the new product. Uninstalling the higher version of the product does not cause these files to be reverted back to the previous version.  When the older version of the software is installed, it checks to see if particular files are the correct version or higher. If the files are a higher version, the files are not updated.  The result is that the older software attempts to utilize newer system files that are incompatible and various errors can occur depending on the versions of Strategy that were installed, the Operating System, and other software installed on the system.
If testing a newer version of the product is needed, this can be accomplished on test machines, or through the use of system imaging software, where an image of the machine before the upgrade can be restored after testing is complete, thus reverting the system back to a state identical to its pre-upgrade state.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

April 13, 2017

Last Updated:

December 21, 2017