EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB13794: How do MicroStrategy Web 9.X preferences work?


Community Admin

• Strategy


How do MicroStrategy Web 9.X preferences work?

Strategy Web 9.X preferences are settings that some users and administrators can set to control the behavior of Strategy Web 9.X. Strategy Web 9.X preferences can be set at the following four levels:
 

  • Sys_defaults.xml - a file that stores global preferences. This file is located in the WEB-INF/xml directory of the Strategy Web 9.X installation directory.
  • Project Defaults - set by the Administrator.
  • User preferences - selected on a user-by-user basis.
  • Report preferences - selected on a user-by-user basis per report.

What is the meaning of each User preference?
 
For more information regarding the meaning of each preference option, refer to the online help, as shown below:
 

ka04W000000OgfoQAC_0EM4400000028tp.jpeg

 
 
Which level takes precedence over what level?
 
Preference changes made at the report level (e.g. margins) will take precedence over user preferences. Preference changes made at the user preferences level will take precedence over project defaults. If no preference changes have been made at a certain level, then the preferences default to the next higher level:
 

  • Sys_defaults.xml (highest)
    • Project Defaults
      • User preferences
        • Report preferences (lowest)

What does 'Apply to ALL Projects' mean?
 
If this option is selected and the Apply button is clicked, the values of the preferences that have been selected are applied to every project to which the user has access. If this option is not checked, the values are applied only to the project that the user is accessing currently.
 
NOTE: When the user clicks Apply, the settings are applied to the project differently, depending on which of the following selections are chosen:
 

  • Apply to all projects on the current Strategy Intelligence Server (Server name): the settings are applied to all projects, not just the one the user is currently configuring. This is the default option.
  • Apply to current project : the settings are applied only to the current project.

What does 'Load Default Values' mean?
 
Selecting this button at the User preferences level loads the administrator's default values for this section of preferences. These values are found within the Project Defaults Preferences level. Selecting this button at the Project Defaults level loads the administrator's default values found in the sys_defaults.xml properties file.
 
NOTE: These default values are not saved until the Apply button is clicked.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 13, 2017

Last Updated:

June 13, 2017