EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB14083: What happens when a custom time load is cancelled intermittently via the MicroStrategy Enterprise Manager 9.x console?


Community Admin

• Strategy


Administrators may from time to time use the 'Custom Time Load' option under Tools -> Data Load Options in the Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x console, as shown below:
 

ka04W000000OadoQAC_0EM440000002BbN.jpeg

 
 
Once the custom time window has begun, then administrators can watch the process progressing, as shown below:
 

ka04W000000OadoQAC_0EM440000002BbH.jpeg

 
It is possible that the user could cancel the migration. If so, there are certain scenarios that users need to keep in mind in terms of what will happen to their Strategy Enterprise Manager Warehouse because the migration was incomplete, as described below:
 
Metadata Migration:
If the process is canceled during Metadata Migration (meaning the Look Up tables, also called the 'Lookup Migration'), that SQL statement will continue transferring objects of the current type, but will stop before moving to the next type, or table in other words.
 
Fact Migration:
If the process is canceled during Fact Migration, the currently executing SQL statement will run to completion. When it finishes, the current transaction is rolled back (but not the previous transactions in this data load).
 
In both scenarios, the last updated table retains the incomplete data load state, so the next data load will rerun that time window before continuing with the current data.
 
In theory there could be some data discrepancies if the data load is canceled during the last transaction. Those can be cleaned up by using the 'WH data deletion' option in Tools -> Data Load options.
 
KB14083


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 9, 2017

Last Updated:

December 30, 2018