This technical note will provide the general steps for the Strategy recommended method to separate the Strategy 9.x metadata tables from the Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x warehouse and statistics tables when they reside in the same database location.
While it is simpler from a general design standpoint to house the Strategy 9.x metadata and the Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x warehouse and statistics in the same database (logical) location, it opens up the potential for resource contention.
It may seem simpler to simply change the location of the Strategy 9.x metadata as opposed to following the steps below. While this is true, and in most cases will not cause any problems with this situation, it is not recommended by Strategy. Strategy's recommendation when moving Strategy 9.x metadata is to first create an empty Strategy 9.x metadata shell in the new location. Next all projects are to be duplicated into the new shell. It will then be necessary to setup the server definition (i.e. governing settings, connections, etc) and setup the new projects to use statistics.
Additionally, Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.2.x will start showing multiple projects with the same name. This is because the GUID of the duplicated project being different from the original project. However, starting with Strategy version 9.3.1, it is possible to retain the same project GUID when duplicating a project to a different metadata.
The steps below are to separate the Strategy Enterprise Manager Warehouse tables and Metadata tables. The steps below ARE ONLY APPLICABLE when the Enterprise Manager Warehouse tables are being moved to the SAME TYPE OF DATABASE - including the database versio. In other words the database type and version of the source and destination databases should EXACTLY BE THE SAME
STEPS:












Refer to the following Strategy Knowledge Base technical notes for more information:
Metadata Modification:
WARNING:
Manually editing values in the Strategy Metadata incorrectly may cause serious, project-wide problems that may make your project unusable. Since these are user-initiated changes, they are not covered by any Strategy warranty. Users are strongly encouraged to backup Metadata prior to any alteration.