EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB16923: How to set default project access privileges for new users or user groups in MicroStrategy Developer 10.x


Stefan Zepeda

Salesforce Solutions Architect • Strategy


KB16923: How to set default project access privileges for new users or user groups in MicroStrategy Developer 10.x

Any new user or user group added to a user environment via User Manager inherits whatever project access privileges are associated to the Everyone group or any privileges that are associated with a security role applied to the Everyone group in Strategy Developer 10.x. In addition, if the user or user group is created or moved into another user group, they will also gain any privileges associated to that user group/security roles in addition to those of the 'Everyone' group.
 
There are two ways to influence what project access privileges will be given to a new user or user group when they are first added to a user environment, assuming they are not immediately added to a specific group:
 

  1. Set specific project access privileges for the Everyone group itself
  2. Create a security role with set privileges and assign that security role to the Everyone group.

By default, the Everyone group in Strategy Developer 10.x has no inherited access or initial privileges associated to it, as shown below:
 

ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F5U.jpeg

 
The following steps describe how to set project access privileges for the Everyone group:
 

  • After connecting to the desired project source, expand Administration below the project source and highlight User Manager.
  • On the right side of the screen, all user groups associated with the desired project source should be listed, as shown below:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F5S.jpeg
  • Right-click the Everyone group and select 'Grant access to projects'.
  • From the window that opens, simply begin checking off on privileges that are desirable as default for any new users or user groups and click OK, as shown below:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F4w.jpeg
  • Because any new user or user groups are always part of the Everyone group, they will now inherit the checked off privileges as in the screenshot below with the newly created 'Test Group', as shown below:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F5b.jpeg

The following steps explain how to set initial privileges for newly created users or groups by associating a security role to the Everyone group:
 

  • After logging into Strategy Developer 10.x and connecting to a project source, right-click the designated project and go to project configuration.
  • Go to General under Project Access as pictured below:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F4x.jpeg
  • Click the View button next to the drop down for security roles near the top of the window. The Security Roles box opens:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F4y.jpeg
  • In this box it is possible to modify existing or create new security roles. Out of the box, Strategy Developer comes with the security roles as pictured above, and the Normal Users security role is applied to the Everyone group.
  • Either create a new security role by clicking New, or Modify the Normal Users security role as pictured below:
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F5T.jpeg
  • Check whatever privileges are desired as default for any new user or user group added to the project and click OK to exit the Security Role Editor.
  • Click OK on the Security Role box after having modified an existing or new security role.
  • From the Project Access - General box that follows, select Normal Users (or whichever security role was created to be assigned to the Everyone group) and make sure that the Everyone group is moved from left to right over to the 'Selected users and groups' column.
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F4z.jpeg
  • By assigning the Everyone group to the security role, the privileges associated with the security role will be applied to any user in the Everyone group. Because all new users and user groups are automatically part of the Everyone group, the privileges associated with the security role are applied to any user or group added to the metadata.
  • Notice how the project access privileges for 'New User' reflect those set for the Normal Users security role since the user is automatically part of the Everyone group.
ka02R000000kUmSQAU_0EM440000002F52.jpeg

 
In general, it is easier to use and manage security roles as they can be edited and applied to several groups or users with minimal effort. Also, it is often recommended to modify the privileges associated with the Everyone group only in a controlled environment, as all users will have whatever privileges are associated upon user creation. Such behavior may not always be desired.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 2, 2017

Last Updated:

June 2, 2017