Beginning with Strategy Web 9.x, user and project preferences are saved in the metadata. When performing a Project Merge, the project and user preferences will not be moved across projects whereas in a Project Duplication both Project and User preferences will be moved depending on the rules that are applied (e.g. Replace, Use existing, etc).
Project level governing settings are saved in the Strategy Intelligence Server definition. They can be viewed in Project Configuration-->Governing. When duplicating a project in 3 tier, the project level governing settings are preserved.
There are enhancement requests open to allow copying the Web Preferences by using Project Merge, and to provide a Command Manager script that will move those preferences between projects.
Strategy will continue to investigate and post updates as soon as they are available.