SYMPTOM:
In Strategy 9.4.x and 10.x, if duplication is set to "not merge users by login" and it finds a user that it can't migrate due to conflicting login or trusted authentication ID, it properly prevents the user from being brought over. However it still brings over the contact and address for that user introducing an inconsistency into the environment.
STEPS TO REPRODUCE:
In Strategy 9.4.x and 10.x Tutorial:
1. Create a metadata (1) with user A (login A and trusted authentication ID test)
2. Create a contact, address and subscription for this user in a project in metadata 1
3. Create a metadata (2) with user B (login B and trusted authentication ID test)
4. Create a contact, address and subscription for this user in a project in metadata 2
5. Do project duplication of the project from metadata 1 to metadata 2 with the option unchecked to merge users by login
6. Check metadata 2 and see that user A's contact and address are in the metadata.
CAUSE:
This is a known issue in Strategy 9.4.x. and 10.x
Contacts are flagged to be migrated before the users login is compared and this is never undone. This can cause other issues with project duplication related to the following two tech notes:
ACTION:
Currently this issue is still being reviewed for feasibility by our Technology team and it is not scoped for any upcoming scheduled Strategy release.