EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB217256: When launching MicroStrategy Mobile app for 9.4.1 iOS Update 4, users are taken to the default MicroStrategy demo project or blank 'Shared Library' page, and need to re-apply the mobile configuration.


Community Admin

• Strategy


This document discusses an issue where a mobile configuration is lost and users are taken back to the default MicroStrategy configuration.

SUMMARY
This document discusses an issue where a mobile configuration is lost and users are taken back to the default Strategy configuration.
 
SYMPTOM
Upon launching the Strategy Mobile application for 9.4.1 iOS Update 4, users are taken to the default demo configuration page rather than their configured Strategy project.  It has also been seen that users can be taken to the screen seen below.  Upon entering the "Shared Library" it is seen that the contents are blank.
 

ka04W000000Og0vQAC_0EM440000002A1t.jpeg

NOTE: Users launching a recompiled app which has the configuration baked in will see that instead of going back to the demo project, they still go to the correct configuration; However, they are prompted for login credentials again even though the credentials should not be needed.
 
CAUSE
This is a known issue with Strategy Mobile 9.4.1 iOS Update 4 and the “background fetch” feature.  This feature is enabled by default in Strategy Mobile 9.4.1 iOS Update 4 and is only further configurable via xCode.
When this feature is enabled the mobile application is trying to reconcile the mobile projects while the device is locked.  While the device is locked, the files being read to do this are encrypted by the Apple hardware so it fails and will revert back to whatever preferences are found when the app is next launched.  In the case of an out of the box app, this will be the demo project or the blank 'Shared Library' page.  In the case of a rebranded app which has had the configuration baked in, it will be the correct configuration but lacking credentials required to access it.
ACTION
This is no longer an issue from Strategy Mobile 10 onwards.
 
WORKAROUND
This feature is DISABLED by default in Strategy Mobile 9.4.1 iOS Update 5.  Upgrading to this version will prevent an out of the box application user from encountering the loss of configuration issue.  However, this feature is still available for users configuring the application using xCode so it can be encountered in 9.4.1 iOS Update 5 if it has been enabled within the xCode project.  Strategy currently does not recommend enabling this feature.
If upgrading to Strategy Mobile 9.4.1 iOS Update 5 is not an option, there is an iOS setting which can disable “background app refresh” for particular applications.  Disabling this for the Strategy Mobile application will prevent the loss of configuration issue.  
 

ka04W000000Og0vQAC_0EM440000002A1s.jpeg

 
 
This issue is being tracked by internal reference number 985307 and 991882.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

April 6, 2017

Last Updated:

July 17, 2017