SYMPTOM:
After deleting a project from 3-tier, users can still see the removed project in a 2-tier project source. After restarting the Intelligence Server, the removed project no longer exists. Instead, users may see two projects with the same name. See the screen shot below:

NOTE: in this example, after the project "Test 1" is removed, the project "Test 2" shows twice when users log in the project source.
CAUSE:
The possible cause could be using an inconsistent server definition. An inconsistent server definition may have incorrect project information stored.
ACTION:
Please use the Configuration Wizard to recreate the server definition.