EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB30476: Users are prompted to save changes when exporting a Report Service document to Excel format in MicroStrategy Web


Community Admin

• Strategy


In MicroStrategy Web, when exporting a Report Service document to Excel format, if the user has privilege `Use Office` and the document has been modified in any way since it was opened (including a change to the selector selection), a warning message like the following will prompt

SYMPTOM:
In Strategy Web 9.0.0, when exporting a Report Service document to Excel format, if the user has privilege `Use Office` and the document has been modified in any way since it was opened (including a change to the selector selection), a warning message like the following will prompt up:

ka04W00000148uFQAQ_0EM4400000028MH.jpeg

Sample Code/Error
The document has been changed. If you do not save it before exporting, your changes will be lost if you refresh it using Strategy Office.
 
STEPS TO REPRODUCE:
Follow the steps below to reproduce this problem in the Strategy Tutorial project:

  1. Login Web as a user with the privilege `Use Office`.
  2. Create a blank Report Service document by inserting a grid as dataset and a selector to control the grid.
  3. Save the document and display it in DHTML mode.
  4. Toggle the selector to reflect other attribute elements other than the default.
  5. Export the document to Excel format, a warning message will prompt up for user to save the changes.

CAUSE:
This is by design. Without saving the change, users will have a problem when refreshing the document in Strategy Office. The exported document will reflect all changes that were made since it was opened, but when users refresh from Strategy Office, it will re-run the original document definition, then all changes will be lost.
ACTION:
If desired to suppress this warning message, uncheck the user privilege `Use Office`, as shown below:

ka04W00000148uFQAQ_0EM4400000028MK.jpeg

 
 
 
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 5, 2017

Last Updated:

December 3, 2019