EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB31900: How to bring back the prompt to upgrade the version of MicroStrategy Office after the selection has been made to not upgrade at a later time


Community Admin

• Strategy


How to bring back the prompt to upgrade the version of MicroStrategy Office after the selection has been made to not upgrade at a later time

SYMPTOM
Users notice that their version of Strategy Office is outdated in comparison to the Strategy Web Services version.
Normally, users will see a prompt similar to the one below, informing them of a newer version and allowing them to decide whether or not to upgrade.  However certain users will not receive the prompt, preventing them from upgrading.

ka04W000000OfXZQA0_0EM440000002Sbd.png

 
 
A newer version of Strategy Office is available for installation. Would you like to upgrade from version xxxx to version xxxxxx?
 
 
This prompt usually appears the first time that the Strategy Office application is connected to a Strategy Web Services with a higher version.
 
CAUSE
At a previous time Office was accessed, the user may have received the the following prompt, and chosen no to stop the prompt from appearing again:
 

ka04W000000OfXZQA0_0EM440000002Sbi.png

 
Would you like to install version xxxxxxx later?
 
Selecting ‘No’ means the user will not be prompted to upgrade anymore.
 
ACTION
1. Access the moimain.dll.config, using Notepad, located at:
C:\Program Files (x86)\MicroStrategy\Web Services\Office
*On Windows 7, the file is located here:
C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\MicroStrategy\Office
 
2. Find the following line:
<add key="Refuse Upgrade" value="xxxxxx" enable="1" override="0" />
Note: the value of ‘value’ may vary.
 
3. Delete the line, save the changes, and reopen the Microsoft Office application being used.
 
5733


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 26, 2017

Last Updated:

January 15, 2019