EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB39848: When the MicroStrategy Web preference to automatically send messages to History List is enabled, messages are seen with a "waiting for prompt" status and "user request is waiting for autoprompt" in the Job Monitor after the user closes the browse


Community Admin

• Strategy


When the MicroStrategy Web preference to automatically send messages to History List is enabled, messages are seen with a "waiting for prompt" status and "user request is waiting for autoprompt" in the Job Monitor after the user closes the browse

SYMPTOM:
When a Strategy Web 9.x user begins to execute a prompted report but does not complete choosing selections in the prompt, the History List message has "waiting for prompt" status and "user request is waiting for autoprompt". This same message can also be seen in the Job Monitor.
 
If user logs out of Strategy Web by clicking "Logout," the message is removed from the History List and Job Monitor.
However, if the user closes web browser, the message and associated job both remain.
 
CAUSE:
Closing the browser window will not terminate the user session with the Intelligence Server. The user session will remain open until the Web Session timeout limit is reached and the session manager component in Strategy removes the session. The Web security preference to cancel pending requests determines if the jobs may be canceled when the session is timed out.
 
 
ACTION:
This issue can be avoided by having users log out of Strategy Web by clicking the "Logout" button. However the user session will be timed out and the running jobs canceled if the Web preference to cancel pending job requests is selected.
 
 
 
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 13, 2017

Last Updated:

June 13, 2017