The User Merge Wizard allows project administrators to merge multiple users or user groups, and their associated profiles, into a single user or user group objects.
Function highlights
Merge User allows project administrators to:
- Transfer object ownership from multiple users to a single merged user
- Merge objects from multiple user profiles into a single profile
- Combine memberships and privileges from multiple users and user groups into one membership and privilege set
- Merge security roles and security filter in a source project
- Merge database connection mappings in a project source
Rules of use
The following describes the behaviors of the user-related objects after the merge.
Group memberships
- Prior to the merge, each source user has a distinct set of memberships.
- After the merge, all group memberships of the source users are combined and assigned to the destination user.
Privileges
- Prior to the merge, each source user has a distinct set of privileges.
- After the merge, all privileges of the source users are combined and assigned to the destination user.
Security roles and security filters
- If a destination user does not have explicit security role or security filter, that user inherits those settings from the corresponding source user.
- If multiple source users are merged into a destination user that does not have a security role or security filter, the settings of the first source user found are applied after the merge.
- If a destination user into which multiple users are merged has a security role or security filter, those settings are applied after the merge.
Database connection mapping
- If database connection mapping does not exist for a destination user, that user inherits the mapping from the corresponding source user.
- If multiple source users are merged into a destination user that does not have database connection mapping, the mapping of the first source user found is applied after the merge.
- If a destination user into which multiple users are merged has database connection mapping, the setting is applied after the merge.
The User Merge Wizard
Perform the following steps to use the User Merge Wizard.
- To access the wizard in Strategy 9.x go to Start > Programs > Strategy > Object Manager > User Merge Wizard.
The welcome page will appear as shown below.