When leveraging Strategy Developer to review, update, or maintain your users and user groups, it's possible that a user group may be accidentally dragged into another group. This is not only inconvenient but can also cause users to either gain or lose privileges unexpectedly when the group is moved back. To ensure the user group's original state is reacquired, follow the steps below before dragging the user group back to the correct level.
Step 1: Within the user group, under 'Project Access,' alter the Security Role Selection from '+ Inherited Access' to the intended 'Security Role + Inherited Access' setting. This can be seen in the example below.

Step 2: Within the Groups section, remove all associations to the user group it has been unintentionally dragged under.

By setting the Security Role, the groups as well as the users within will retain their privileges when placed back to their intended group level and parent.