EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB43017: MicroStrategy User connections are not deleted when logging out of a portal server in MicroStrategy Web 9.x Portlet


Community Admin

• Strategy


When users are interacting with the MicroStrategy 9.x portlets in a portal page and log out of the portal server, the expected behavior is that the MicroStrategy user session will be terminated. However, after logging out of the portal server, the MicroStrategy session persists in the Intelligence Server and will only be terminated after it times out.

SYMPTOM:
 
When users are interacting with the Strategy 9.x portlets in a portal page and log out of the portal server, the expected behavior is that the Strategy user session will be terminated. However, after logging out of the portal server, the Strategy session persists in the Intelligence Server and will only be terminated after it times out.
 
STEPS TO REPRODUCE:
 
Follow these steps in Strategy Tutorial 9.3.0 to reproduce:

  • Configure a Liferay portal server and deploy the Strategy 9.3.0 Liferay portlet to the server.
  • Log into the Liferay server and navigate to the Strategy Portlet page. 
  • In Strategy Desktop, log into the project source with the Administrator account and go to Administration > System Monitors > User Connections.
    Notice that a portal server Strategy user session was created, as shown below:
     
ka04W000000OdKPQA0_0EM440000002Gbo.png
  • In the web browser, log out of the Liferay portal server.
  • Go back to the User Connections monitor and notice that the session was not deleted. It will stay active until it times out.

CAUSE:
 
This is working as designed. Even in Strategy Web 9.x, if a user closes the browser window without logging out of Strategy Web, the user session will remain active in the Strategy Intelligence Server until it times out. Unless a user actively logs out of Strategy Web, the session will linger. The same issue happens with portal servers, however
some portal servers provide a callback for logging out. For instance, Websphere portal servers do provide this notification and Strategy uses an event listener to determine if the session should be closed. Liferay portal, on the other hand, does not. Without this notification, Strategy is incapable of knowing when the portal server session has ended. An enhancement request has been logged to provide the Strategy user a way to log out of Strategy when using portals that do not provide this logout event.
 
ACTION:
 
Contact Strategy Technical Support for an update on this issue.
 
WORKAROUND:
 
Modify the user session timeout settings to an appropriate value that would allow users to prevent idle users from constantly seeing session errors and that would prevent session lingering problems. Refer to tech notes KB10214 and KB10411 for more information.
Another option is to manually terminate the user sessions that are knowingly inactive from the User Connections monitor by right clicking the session and selecting "Disconnect".
 
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 22, 2017

Last Updated:

June 22, 2017