EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB43151: Can multiple project merges run at the same time, using different projects from the same source and destination metadatas in MicroStrategy 9.x?


Community Admin

• Strategy


Can multiple project merges run at the same time, using different projects from the same source and destination metadatas in MicroStrategy 9.x?

Can multiple project merges run at the same time, using different projects from the same source and destination metadatas in Strategy 9.x?
 
As mentioned in technical note KB14912, multiple project merges can be run in parallel using the same source project.  The purpose of this tech note is to cover the scenario in which multiple project merges are run in parallel when all source projects exist in Metadata 1 and all destination projects exist in Metadata 2.  The naming of <SkipProjectMergeSourceLockingSkipProjectMergeDestConfigLocking /> setting can be misleading in that it states that it implies that the Configuration Lock on the destination metadata will be skipped.
 
However, this is not the case.  Through Strategy Technical Support testing, it has been confirmed that the described scenario can only be achieved when merging non-configuration objects.  Application objects such as Reports and Schema objects such as Attributes can be merged successfully using the method above, since they are project specific and hence the configuration lock does not apply.  On the other hand, configuration objects such as Users and User Groups cannot be involved in these merges since a configuration lock will be obtained by the first project merge and prevent all subsequent merges involving configuration objects from finishing successfully.
 
When a project merge fails due to an existing configuration lock on the metadata, an error message similar to the following will appear:
 

ka04W000001MKkmQAG_0EM440000002Crg.png

 


"Could not update; currently locked by user 'admin' on machine xxxx."


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

April 11, 2017

Last Updated:

April 11, 2017