EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB43892: Disabling tooltip for one graph series does not take effect in Flash view mode in MicroStrategy Web 9.x


Community Admin

• Strategy


This article describes a known issue with MicroStrategy Web 9.x where disabling tooltips for a graph series does not take effect in Flash view mode. Users must note that Flash has been deprecated in MicroStrategy 10.1 and later versions.

SYMPTOM:
When attempting to disable the tooltip of one of several series in a graph within a report services document, users find that when viewing the document in Flash mode, the tooltips for all series in the graph are displayed. When viewing the document in Interactive view mode, the tooltips are correctly disabled for the given series.
STEPS TO REPRODUCE:

  • Create dataset with Category, Profit and Revenue.

ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dZ.png
  • Create document and insert dataset as Vertical Line Graph.

ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dK.png
  • In Strategy Desktop or Strategy Web, format Graph as following:
    • In Desktop, edit graph then right-click and choose > Graph Options > Series > select "Revenue" and uncheck Show Tooltip (Web Only).
       
ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dY.png
    • In Web, run the document in editable mode and right-click graph > Format ... > Format > Series Values > Data Values for Revenue and uncheck Tooltips.
ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dX.png
  • Run in Flash View mode and note that once the mouse pointer hovers over any of the markers, the tooltip for revenue is still displayed.

ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dW.png

CAUSE:
This is a known issue with Strategy Web 9.x. The original cause is due to a Adobe Flash limitation that does not allow visualization of individual tool tips on graph objects.
 
ACTION:
Contact Strategy Technical Support for an update on this issue. Note that Flash has been deprecated in Strategy 10.1 and up.
 
WORKAROUND:

  • Consider running the document in Interactive View mode as it is not Flash based and allows to disable tooltips for individual series.
  • When disabling tooltips for all series, no tooltips are displayed even in Flash mode. To do so, perform the following steps:
    • In Desktop, edit graph then right-click and choose > Graph Options > Series and uncheck "Show Tooltip (Web Only)"

ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dL.png
    • When running the document in Flash mode, no tooltip is displayed.


ka04W000000OhP1QAK_0EM4400000026dO.png

Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

May 23, 2017

Last Updated:

May 23, 2017