SYMPTOM
The Session Recovery feature allows logged out Strategy Web users to log back in and recover the last dashboard, document, or report they viewed before logging out or being logged out.
For more information on how the new feature works, refer to the following article: KB302259.
The timeout for how long a session backup will be retained controlled by “Session Recovery backup expiration (hrs)” setting. The default is 168 hours. However, users may notice that some user session backup files do not get deleted after the expiration date.
CAUSE
The user needs to log back into the Strategy Web environment where the session was created. Upon doing so, Strategy removes any session linked to the user that has passed the expiration date. If the user does not log back in, the files are kept.
There is an enhancement request to remove the expired sessions regardless of whether the user logs in. However, it is still under review by Strategy Team for the possibility to address this in future releases.
WORKAROUND
Manually delete the session recovery files if the user is no longer able to log in to Strategy Web and above.