EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB44365: A user has "No access granted" for a project as designated by a column of gray X's in the User Editor's Project Access subcategory in MicroStrategy Developer 9.x.


Stefan Zepeda

Salesforce Solutions Architect • Strategy


A user has "No access granted" for a project as designated by a column of gray X's in the User Editor's Project Access subcategory in MicroStrategy Developer 9.x.

SYMPTOM:
A user has "No access granted" for a project as designated by a column of gray X's in the User Editor's Project Access subcategory in Strategy Developer 9.x. A user may wonder why the X's are sometimes gray, whereas they are normally red.
 
CAUSE:
This is working by design. By default, all users are a part of the Normal Users security role. This security role does not give any project access by default, but when a User is a part of any security role, their access will show as a red x for each row and Security Role Selection will show "+ Inherited Access". If a user is removed from all security roles and user groups, then their access will show as a gray X for each row. Note the difference below:
 

ka02R000000kbnyQAA_0EM440000002Chr.png

 
ACTION:
No action is necessary, but the following steps can be used to place the user back in the default Normal Users security role:
1. In the Desktop Folder List, for the project source in question, navigate to Administration > Configuration Managers > Security Roles.
2. Right-click on Normal Users and click on the Members tab.
3. Select a Project, and move Groups or Users to the right (Selected members) side. Note that the Everyone group is present here by default.
  


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 8, 2017

Last Updated:

June 8, 2017