EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB47214: How to recreate all deleted out-of-the-box configuration objects in MicroStrategy 9.x


Community Admin

• Strategy


The following procedure describes how to recreate all deleted out-of-the-box configuration objects at once in Strategy 9.x.  These objects are the ones that are included and created with a new fresh metadata by the Strategy system.  This can be done by re-executing the Metadata Repository upgrade in Configuration Wizard.
 
The steps to do this are described below:

  • In Configuration Wizard, select "Upgrade existing environment to Strategy 9."
  • Select the option to upgrade the "Intelligence Server Components."
  • Enter the appropriate Strategy credentials and on the Select Components to Upgrade screen select "Re-execute Metadata Repository Upgrade."
ka04W000000OebqQAC_0EM4400000029P4.png
  • Execute the upgrade.

 
Every deleted out-of-the-box configuration object will now be recreated, and each will be recreated with the objects original object ID.
 
The reason this works is that these objects are actually Strategy created system objects.  These objects often need to have their definitions updated upon metadata upgrade to support new features.  The simplest way to handle this is to recreate any deleted ones and reset the definitions of existing ones to the correct new definition.  This ensures that there are no inconsistent references or unexpected behavior out of these objects when using the new features.  This can be taken advantage of to recreate objects that were inadvertently deleted by redoing the upgrade to the existing platform version.  Any user created object won't need to be modified as it is already using the current versions object definition.  The only change that needs to be made is the recreation/resetting of these system objects.
 
Note:   Users should be aware that executing this update will overwrite any changes that may have been made to the out-of-the-box Strategy user groups and security roles.
 


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 8, 2017

Last Updated:

June 8, 2017