EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB487026: Error "The shared file cannot be accessed, it may be deleted or the storage location cannot be accessed" appears when migrating packages in WorkStation


Xiaodan Ma

Senior Cloud Support Engineer III • MicroStrategy


This article explains why the error "The shared file cannot be accessed, it may be deleted or the storage location cannot be accessed" appears when migrating packages in WorkStation.

Symptom

An error "The shared file cannot be accessed, it may be deleted or the storage location cannot be accessed" occurs during package migration between environments. 

Steps to Reproduce

  1. Create a shared folder in the source environment, add its network location to the storage location.
  2. Create a shared folder in the target environment, add its network location to the storage location.
  3. Connect to both source and target environments in WorkStation.
  4. Click the plus sign next to Migrations.
  5. Select the source environment, and select a dossier.
  6. Create the package.
  7. On the migration package list page, attempt to Validate and Migrate the package, triggering the error.

Cause

Both environments must use the same network location for storage location during migration.

Action

Ensure the storage locations in both environments point to the same network location.


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

December 15, 2024

Last Updated:

December 15, 2024