SYMPTOM:
Users are unable to add additional entries to their history list even though the number of History List messages setting as set in the Server Configuration governor (see below) is not met:

For example, the maximum number of messages per user setting is set to 10. User A has 3messages in Project A and 4 messages in Project B. When User A attempts to add another entry to their history list, the oldest entry is removed. User A can only see 7 (3of Project A and 4of Project B) entries in the history list even though the setting is actually at 10.
In Strategy Desktop, users will receive an error message similar to the following:

The History List is currently full and therefore no more reports can be sent to history. Please delete old messages so you can receive new reports in the history list.

Error in report results. Your request could not be processed. Please try again. If the problem persists, contact the Administrator. Strategy Server error: (User history list is full.)
SELECT OBJECT_ID, OBJECT_NAME, ABBREVIATION, DESCRIPTION FROM MICRO.DSSMDOBJINFO WHERE OBJECT_ID = `USER ID`
CAUSE:
A user's history list is a flat file stored in the Strategy Intelligence Server which contains all the information about all of their history list messages.
When a project is deleted or unregistered, any history list entries for that project in the user's history list are not deleted. This means that the user may have more History List messages than what appears in the interface. Before deleting or unregistering a project from a project source, the history messages must be deleted first so that those invalid messages are not counted as part of the "Maximum number of messages per user" governor setting.
Note also that this governor is at the server level, so it will apply to all projects under the Strategy Intelligence Server. A user will only be able to have, in total across all projects, as many history list messages as set by the governor.
WORKAROUND:
Perform either of the following workarounds for this issue:
Delete and recreate the user
When a user is deleted and recreated, a new history list file is created. This file is empty by default. However, this solution will remove all of a user's personal objects and history list messages for all projects.
Delete the user's History List file from the server
To achieve this, perform the following steps:

Steps to Avoid Repeating the Problem
When deleting a project from a project source, ensure that all users delete their messages before taking this action. In Strategy 9.x, the deletion of history list messages can be scheduled which can be utilized to delete all users' messages before deleting a project.
Additionally, the system administrator should delete old history list messages or set the history list message lifetime governing so that older history list messages are removed regularly. The lifetime governor called, 'Message Lifetime (Days),' can be found in the same dialog in the Strategy Intelligence Server Configuration wizard as the 'Maximum Number of Messages Per User setting.'
For additional information, refer to the related Strategy Knowledge Base documents:
Managing History Lists