EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB9767: "The chosen machine xx is currently being used by the system xx. Unless this machine is removed from that system, the new system will not function properly." error appears when attempting to configure a system in MicroStrategy Narrowcast Server 9.


Community Admin

• Strategy


When configuring a new system through the System Configuration Wizard, an error message is displayed upon selecting to configure a single machine for MicroStrategy Narrowcast Server 9.x

SYMPTOM:
When configuring a new system through the System Configuration Wizard, an error message is displayed upon selecting to configure a single machine for Strategy Narrowcast Server 9.x:

ka04W000000OeYdQAK_0EM440000002BrV.jpeg


The chosen machine XXXX is currently being used by the system XXXX. 
Unless this machine is removed from that system, the new system will not function properly. 
You can free this machine by either destroying the system XXXX or removing the Distribution Manager, 
​Execution Engine and Strategy Logging Server references in that system that point to this machine.

 

CAUSE:
This issue occurs because the Strategy Narrowcast Server 9.x machine is already configured to be used by another system, either as Distribution Manager, Execution Engine or Logging Server.
 
ACTION:
To resolve this issue it is necessary to manually remove these references in the Strategy Narrowcast Server machine:

  1. Open the Registry by entering 'Regedit' in the command window.
  2. Go to 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MicroStrategy\ Strategy Broadcast Server\7.0\Setup'.
  3. Completely remove the 'SystemGUID', 'SystemName', and 'UsedAs' entries, not just the values.

Note: Ensure that the registry is backed up before modifying the registry.
 
WARNING:
Modifying registry values incorrectly may cause serious, system-wide problems that may require the re-installation of Microsoft Windows NT. Any edit of the registry is done at the user`s own risk. Since these are user-initiated changes, they are not covered by any Strategy warranty. If using Microsoft Windows NT, the user should backup the registry and/or update an Emergency Repair prior to alterations.
 
9767


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 7, 2017

Last Updated:

June 7, 2017