What's the impact introduced by creating a new server definition?
By creating a new server definition, Intelligence Server level settings as well as Project level settings will be reset.
NOTE:
The server definition is a set of settings stored in the metadata which contain information about configuration locations, governing settings, and other system and project specific settings.
Server definition is dumped in the DSSErrors log when Strategy Intelligence Server is started, restarted or when the server or project level settings are changed. These settings are classified as server settings and project settings.
Refer to Knowledge Base article below for Setting Category and Details:
KB16771: What Strategy Intelligence Server process information is logged in the DSSErrors log?
In DSSErrors.log, and search for key word "Dump ServerDef -- begin" for server level settings and "Info for Project x: begin" for project level settings.
What actions could be taken to reduce the manual effort to recover to previous settings
a) Follow steps below to take a backup of the web preference with command manger
1. Launch command manager
2. Execute below query to list out the web preference and save the result for future reference.
LIST [ALL] WEBPREFERENCES [(GROUPS
"groupname1" [, ...
"groupnameN"] | NAMES
"name1" [, ... "nameN"])] FOR (USER "username" | CURRENTUSER) IN
(ALLPROJECTS | PROJECT "project_name");
Choose Get Info if you are using a Mac.

Choose Get Info if you are using a Mac.

Choose Get Info if you are using a Mac.

Choose Get Info if you are using a Mac.

c) Adjust the web preference per the output in step a)