Is it possible to downgrade from a version of Strategy to an earlier version?
Downgrading an installation of Strategy software to an earlier version is problematic. When a product is upgraded, system files and registry keys are modified to support the new product. Uninstalling the higher version of the product does not cause these files to be reverted back to the previous version. When the older version of the software is installed, it checks to see if particular files are the correct version or higher. If the files are a higher version, the files are not updated. The result is that the older software attempts to utilize newer system files that are incompatible and various errors can occur depending on the versions of Strategy that were installed, the Operating System, and other software installed on the system.
If testing a newer version of the product is needed, this can be accomplished on test machines, or through the use of system imaging software, where an image of the machine before the upgrade can be restored after testing is complete, thus reverting the system back to a state identical to its pre-upgrade state.