EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB17467: What data must be purged when a project is completely deleted from the metadata in MicroStrategy Enterprise Manager 9.x?


Community Admin

• Strategy


Steps to remove any data related to deleted projects in Enterprise Manager

SUMMARY:
When a project is deleted from the metadata and the user does not want to report on that project any more, the following steps must be performed to remove any data related to this deleted project in Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x:
 

  1. All statistics related to this project must be deleted. For instructions on how to purge statistics at different levels, see KB11295
     
  • All Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x data must be deleted. This refers to Fact table data as well as schema and application object level data.
     
    • Fact Level data can be deleted via Warehouse Deletion option in Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x. On selecting this option, the user will be prompted to choose the project for which they want the data to be deleted. Detailed instructions on this option can be found in Strategy Knowledge Base document below:
       
    • KB11297 : How to delete information in the Enterprise Manager warehouse tables for a specific project in Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x
       
      However, the current implementation of this feature does not list the projects that have been deleted from the metadata. There is an enhancement logged for this functionality. Contact Strategy Technical Support for an update of the issue.
       
  • Configuration, Schema and Application object level data can be marked as deleted through 'Update object deletions' option in Strategy Enterprise Manager 9.x.
     
    Note: Update object deletions only updates the Object Exists Status column and does not actually delete the data from the Enterprise Manager warehouse. Refer to the following Strategy Knowledge Base technical note for additional information).
     
    Note: The OBJECT_EXISTS flag for the deleted project is also updated in the IS_PROJ lookup table.
     
  • KB7230 : How to update the Object Exist Status indicator in Strategy Enterprise Manager?
     

Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

June 8, 2017

Last Updated:

June 24, 2019