EducationSoftwareStrategy.com
StrategyCommunity

Knowledge Base

Product

Community

Knowledge Base

TopicsBrowse ArticlesDeveloper Zone

Product

Download SoftwareProduct DocumentationSecurity Hub

Education

Tutorial VideosSolution GalleryEducation courses

Community

GuidelinesGrandmastersEvents
x_social-icon_white.svglinkedin_social-icon_white.svg
Strategy logoCommunity

© Strategy Inc. All Rights Reserved.

LegalTerms of UsePrivacy Policy
  1. Home
  2. Topics

KB442111: Status becomes "Error" in History List after a user logout while a dataset for a Dossier is being executed with MicroStrategy Web 10.x and above


Mari Sugimura

Senior Cloud Support Engineer III • MicroStrategy


This article explains about an unexpected behavior that the job sent to History gets cancelled when the user logout the project session with a Dossier or a Report Services document.

Starting with the release of Strategy ONE (March 2024), dossiers are also known as dashboards.

Symptom

Job status in History List becomes "Error" after a user logout the session.

ka0PW0000001JVAYA2_0EM44000000R25M.png

 

Steps to reproduce

1. Create a dataset report that takes at least 1 minutes to be executed. 
2. Right click on the dataset report and select "Create Dossier" from the menu. 
3. After wait page is displayed, click "Add To My History List" link.

ka0PW0000001JVAYA2_0EM44000000R25b.png

4. Go to History and confirm the request is added with Status "Running datasets."

ka0PW0000001JVAYA2_0EM44000000R25g.png

5. Before the job completes, log out from the project.

ka0PW0000001JVAYA2_0EM44000000R25l.png

6. Log back in the same project and go to History. Notice that the job status changed to "Error."
 

Cause

A checkbox for "Save Report Services document dataset message to History List" is unchecked. This setting can be found in Project Configuration > History List as shown below:

ka0PW0000001JVAYA2_0EM44000000RIo3.png

 

Action

Check this check box to avoid the jobs getting canceled upon user's log out or a session timeout error. 
For more information regarding when jobs are expected to be canceled, refer to:
KB20098: How to manually Cancel Jobs Submitted via MicroStrategy Intelligence Server 9.x
KB9087: Executing jobs are cancelled even though the setting "Cancel this session's pending requests?" is set to "No" in MicroStrategy Web 9.x - 10.x


Comment

0 comments

Details

Knowledge Article

Published:

October 9, 2018

Last Updated:

March 21, 2024